Alright Cell Phone…I’ll Wake You Up When We Get There


GoodbyeCellPhoneFinalI have recently decided that it is best for me to turn my cell phone off when I get on the road.  Quite a few good reasons to do so came to my mind:

  • It is dangerous to text while driving
  • It is distracting and potentially dangerous to talk on the phone while driving
  • It is illegal in the State of Georgia to text while driving
  • I personally am not as disciplined as I would like to think I am with my cell phone in the car
  • Too many people are killed or injured from car accidents stemming from cell phone usage
  • That text or that call really can wait for just a few more minutes
  • I must be alert for other distracted drivers
  • Sometimes text or voicemail content can stress you out; I want to drive with a freer mind
  • It would reduce my exposure to potentially harmful RF coming from my phone
  • I want to set a good example for my soon-to-be-born child
  • If I want others to be safe with their phones, I must be safe with my phone

Please be safe out there.  A post about cell phone usage is not my typical blog post, but it definitely factors into living a healthy lifestyle.  My goal is not to try to tell folks that they need to do like me; of course you don’t.  You may be more disciplined than I am.  Just be honest with yourself.  The moral of the story is, let’s not let cell phones (or similar electronics) get between us and truly healthy lives.

4 thoughts on “Alright Cell Phone…I’ll Wake You Up When We Get There

  1. It scares the heck out of me when I’m in the car with someone who is texting and swerving at the same time. My life is in their hands and they don’t care! You’re right, friends, family and work can wait! Pray for me!

    • Will do! Yeah, I plan to be more intentional about asking folks to hold off on using their phones if I am a passenger in their car. Usually I try to be ‘nice,’ but you’re right; your life is in their hands at that point.

Leave a Reply

