1000 Calf Raises Per Day Challenge…You In??


ShawnDunk

About three weeks ago, I read an article by popular trainer Obi Obadike in which he answered the question “How Can I Improve My Vertical Jump”.  One thing he recommended was 1,000 calf raises each day.  According to a magazine he read, a young Shaquille O’Neal did 1,000 calf raises before bed each night to increase his vertical jump, and ended up increasing it by supposedly 12 inches!

I have been able to grab the rim since I was a teenager (no bragging intended), but I was never a dunker.  Now, as I approach 30, I figure that I could still do it.  Why not, you know?  1,000 calf raises is a lot at once of course, but starting in January my plan is to do them in the following manner:

100 every hour for 10 hours

=>100/4=25 calf raises every 15 minutes

My goal is to do this for the whole month of January, and then at the end, I will perform a dunking test to see if I have increased my ‘ups.’

You in?

6 thoughts on “1000 Calf Raises Per Day Challenge…You In??

  1. Pingback: 1000 Calf Raises Per Day Challenge…You In?? (Part 2) | Your Health @ The Crossroads

  2. Pingback: 1000 Calf Raises Per Day Challenge…You In?? (Part 3) | Your Health @ The Crossroads

  3. Pingback: 1000 Calf Raises Per Day Challenge…You In?? (Part 4) | Your Health @ The Crossroads

  4. Pingback: Stop “Exercising.” Find What You Like. Do that…a LOT. | Your Health At The Crossroads

Leave a Reply

